The B.E.E.F. Blog

Biblical Eyesight Emerging Forefront

Is It Okay for Me to Have a Bad Day?

Yesterday was just not one of my better days.  I just felt like I was in some sort of funk all day.  I blame it all on my bagel.  For some reason my the timer on my toaster oven decided to just stop, and my bagel became harder than a hockey puck.  I was tempted to throw the thing against the wall, but my stopped me because it might have put a hole in the wall.  Then the kids were acting up as I was trying to get ready, and that did not help either.  Work was kind of a blah day.  I just did not feel accomplished.  It seemed like every time the phone rang; it was someone with a problem.  Looking back I don’t see these things as the end of the world, but it just seemed like yesterday was not my day.
image

The entire time during all of this I was thinking is it okay for a Christian to have a bad day?  It seems like whenever I vent to other believers I hear the following quotes:

  • Just lean on the promises of God.
  • Remember, rejoice always.
  • You need to claim this day (one of my favorites).
  • Just let Jesus carry your burdens.
  • Why don’t you just pray about it? (duh)
  • Just wait till we get to heaven.

When I hear these things I think to myself, of course I know this stuff.  I know that God has my best interest in mind, and that He is always looking out for me.  In Matthew 10 it says how God looks out for us by comparing us to sparrows.   Even though I know these things my overall mood stayed the same through out the day.  So is it okay for me to feel this way?  I believe the answer is yes.  While I do not think the Bible says we are called to be miserable during the day; I believe it shows us how life happens, and it is our reaction to our circumstances that determines our holiness verses our overall mood.  If we go through the day, stay faithful, and keep focused on God then the results of the day will out way your overall mood.  The Bible actually teaches us this.  It shows us how life happens, our Savior understands, and it we avoid sin the day is not a total loss.

Life Happens

I always get this impression from some people never have a bad day.  I wonder how they would act if they were hit by a bus randomly.  I know that sounds bad, but it is how I feel sometimes.  Truth is, we should strive to maintain a positive attitude because one day we will be in heaven, and all the cares of this world will no longer matter.

For we know that if the tent that is our earthly home is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens. II Corinthians 5:1 ESV

We know the day will come when we are united with God in heaven, but in the mean time we still have to deal with the issues associated with this life.  Even if we are a follower of Christ there will still be problems.  James 1:2 says “when you meet trials,” not “if” you have them.  We know these things are going to happen.  Here are a few examples from the Psalms when the authors had a bad day:

I am weary from my groaning;
with my tears I dampen my pillow
and drench my bed every night. Psalms 6:4 HCSB

Pay attention to me and answer me.
I am restless and in turmoil with my complaint Psalms 55:2 HCSB

Save me, God,
for the water has risen to my neck.
I have sunk in deep mud, and there is no footing;
I have come into deep waters,
and a flood sweeps over me.
I am weary from my crying;
my throat is parched.
My eyes fail, looking for my God. Psalms 69:1-3 HCSB

One of the great things about the Psalms is we get to see an honest depiction of how these men of God dialogue with our Creator.  They were open and honest with Him.  As Christians we need to be honest with Him.  Jesus was honest with God while He was praying just before His death.  He even asked God if there was another way to redeem humanity.  Jesus is the best example one how we are to react when things are not going our way.  On His toughest days He would always get away and spend time with the Father.  He knows what we are going through.

We Have a Savior Who Understands

image

The great thing about our God is He understands what we are going through, not because He looks down and see what is going on; God has actually dwelt among us.  Jesus knows what it is like to tempted, to be hungry, to be over worked, to be under appreciated, to lose a friend, to suffer, and even carry the weight of the world on His shoulders.  We often forget that our Savior understands and cares.  It is easy to lose sight of this when we are stuck in the middle of mess.  When life throws us curve balls, and we a struggling to even make it through.

For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin.  Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.  Hebrews 4:15-16 ESV

Our God is not some old man who sits up on a mountain looking down who has pity on us.  Our God is a concerned, passionate, loving Father who looks out for us.  He not only understands what we are going through; He has been through what we are going through.

No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it. I Corinthians 10:13 ESV

Jesus lived among us so we could have the best example on how to live.  Notice also how Paul writes when there is a temptation there is always an escape from it.  This is how we make the most out of a bad day by choosing not to sin.

Don’t Let a Bad Day Be a Disaster

When yesterday continued to be a disaster, I was concerned that I might do something I would regret later.  As Christians we need to be concerned about that.  When things are not going our way we tend to let our guard down, and we allow are mind to tempt us in areas where we could easily fall.  In order to not allow to be a disaster we need to keep a two things in mind.

The first thing we need to remember is the example of Jesus.  When the crowds we following Him, we times were tough, and the day just did not seem to ever end; He would escape and pray.  I think I did this at least three times yesterday.  I will be honest with you; I did not feel better, but I did not do anything that would destroy my relationship with God.  I was able to stay on course, and survive the day without getting fired for going off on someone.  Also with Jesus we need to remember our job as believers is to serve.  Even though the day is tough we must stay true to the calling God has given us.

 

The second thing is we must always have an escape plan for when temptation comes. This comes in two forms. The first we get from Jesus’ example when He was tempted by Jesus in Matthew 4 and Luke 4. He resisted with Scripture each time the devil came after Him, and each time Satan was defeated. We need to be in the Word daily to be reminder of what it says. The second is if you know you are going to be in a tempting situation be prepared. If you are going to be with someone with the opposite sex, and you need to either texting your spouce constantly or try to avoid being alone. As Christains we need to be prepared for when the devil might strike,

Final Thoughts

It is not the end of the world if you have a bad day. Remember to be on guard for temptation, and ask God for His strength throughout the day. Bad days remind us of how much we need Him. Allow these times to grow your faith, and strengthen your relationship with our Savior.

2 comments on “Is It Okay for Me to Have a Bad Day?

  1. Pingback: A Week With No Meat « The Photo Faith Challenge

  2. cdubbs727
    March 1, 2012

    Yes. This.

    Too many Christians cling to the belief that they are supposed to be “inright-outright-upright-downright happy all the time,” forgetting that we still live in a world cursed by the fall. Sometimes we have a bad day and we mourn, recognize the reality and trust that God will make it right in the future. But I think even recognizing the world’s brokenness and our frailty is a form of worship, admitting that God is so much higher than we are and our need for Him.

Your thoughts

Information

This entry was posted on February 29, 2012 by in B.E.E.F., Christian Living, Church, Doctrine, God, More About Joe, Scripture and tagged , , .

Instagram

Follow me on instagram!!

Follow the Joe

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

If you don't want to sign up for one more service, but you want to follow B.E.E.F., then sign up here.

Join 194 other followers

February 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829  
